sethgray: (Red Queen)
[personal profile] sethgray
(Note: Copied wholesale from here.)

Clay and his partner of 20 years, Harold, lived in California. Clay and Harold made diligent efforts to protect their legal rights, and had their legal paperwork in place--wills, powers of attorney, and medical directives, all naming each other. Harold was 88 years old and in frail medical condition, but still living at home with Clay, 77, who was in good health.

One evening, Harold fell down the front steps of their home and was taken to the hospital. Based on their medical directives alone, Clay should have been consulted in Harold's care from the first moment. Tragically, county and health care workers instead refused to allow Clay to see Harold in the hospital. The county then ultimately went one step further by isolating the couple from each other, placing the men in separate nursing homes.

Ignoring Clay's significant role in Harold's life, the county continued to treat Harold like he had no family and went to court seeking the power to make financial decisions on his behalf. Outrageously, the county represented to the judge that Clay was merely Harold's "roommate." The court denied their efforts, but did grant the county limited access to one of Harold's bank accounts to pay for his care.

What happened next is even more chilling.

Without authority, without determining the value of Clay and Harold's possessions accumulated over the course of their 20 years together or making any effort to determine which items belonged to whom, the county took everything Harold and Clay owned and auctioned off all of their belongings. Adding further insult to grave injury, the county removed Clay from his home and confined him to a nursing home against his will. The county workers then terminated Clay and Harold's lease and surrendered the home they had shared for many years to the landlord.

Three months after he was hospitalized, Harold died in the nursing home. Because of the county's actions, Clay missed the final months he should have had with his partner of 20 years. Compounding this tragedy, Clay has literally nothing left of the home he had shared with Harold or the life he was living up until the day that Harold fell, because he has been unable to recover any of his property. The only memento Clay has is a photo album that Harold painstakingly put together for Clay during the last three months of his life.

With the help of a dedicated and persistent court-appointed attorney, Anne Dennis of Santa Rosa, Clay was finally released from the nursing home. Ms. Dennis, along with Stephen O'Neill and Margaret Flynn of Tarkington, O'Neill, Barrack & Chong, now represent Clay in a lawsuit against the county, the auction company, and the nursing home, with technical assistance from NCLR. A trial date has been set for July 16, 2010 in the Superior Court for the County of Sonoma.



Guys this is why marriage equality is so important. Things like this wouldn't happen, or at least couldn't happen as easily, if GLBT people had full legal protection. Please help spread the word about this.



Call and write:

6th District: Marin County and Sonoma County

Congresswoman Lynn Woolsey
Washington DC Office: (202) 225-516
Marin Office: (415) 507-9554
Sonoma Office: (415) 507-9601
Website: woolsey.house.gov

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: 916-445-2841

Sonoma County Supervisors:
FIRST DISTRICT: Supervisor Valerie Brown
vbrown@sonoma-county.org

SECOND DISTRICT: Supervisor Mike Kerns
mkerns@sonoma-county.org

THIRD DISTICT: Supervisor Shirley Zane
szane@sonoma-county.org

FOURTH DISTRICT: Supervisor Paul Kelley
pkelley@sonoma-county.org

FIFTH DISTRICT: Supervisor Efren Carrillo
ecarrillo@sonoma-county.org

Get this on the news:

http://www.cnn.com/feedback/tips/newstips.html

Rachel Maddow, MSNBC - rachel@msnbc.com

MSNBC Live Senior Producer Chris Ariens (201) 583-5000 chris.ariens@msnbc.com

MSNBC Live Senior Producer Stefanie Cargill (201) 583-5000 stefanie.cargill@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC National News Director Robert Dembo (201) 583-5222 robert.dembo@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Director Alison Hawley (201) 583-5155 alison.hawley@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Producer Steve Hyvonen (201) 583-5155 (201) 583-5453 steve.hyvonen@msnbc.com

MSNBC Live Senior Producer Nick Kovijanic (201) 583-5000 nick.kovijanic@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Producer Dave Levine (201) 583-5707 dave.levine@nbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Editor In Chief Jerry Nachman (201) 583-5155 jerry.nachman@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Producer Richard Stockwell (201) 583-5155 richard.stockwell@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Producer Mike Tanaka (201) 583-5155 mike.tanaka@msnbc.com

MSNBC/Microsoft-NBC News Senior Producer Essa Yip (201) 583-5155 essa.yip@msnbc.com

ABC News 212-456-4040
CBS News 212-975-3691
NBC News 212-664-4971
CNN 404-827-1511
Fox News 212-301-3300
MSNBC 201-583-5222
PBS 703-998-2150
NPR 202-414-2200
NY Times 212-556-1234
USA Today 703-276-3400
Newsweek 212-445-4000
Time 212-522-1212
U.S. News 202-955-2000
From:
Anonymous( )Anonymous This account has disabled anonymous posting.
OpenID( )OpenID You can comment on this post while signed in with an account from many other sites, once you have confirmed your email address. Sign in using OpenID.
User
Account name:
Password:
If you don't have an account you can create one now.
Subject:
HTML doesn't work in the subject.

Message:

 
Notice: This account is set to log the IP addresses of everyone who comments.
Links will be displayed as unclickable URLs to help prevent spam.

Profile

sethgray: (Default)
sethgray

April 2010

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
1112 1314151617
18 192021 222324
2526 2728 2930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Oct. 24th, 2017 11:23 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios